So according to my sources, this is the first Kirin opened out of the three; the other two being in Richmond and New Westminster.  The restaurant itself has undergone renovations and the exterior looks decent enough.  Once you go in, the reception area looks lovely, it sort of gives you this classical restaurant feel.  However, although the interior isn’t crowded or stuffy, it starts to feel a bit gloomy after a while; maybe due to inadequate lighting.  There aren’t many windows as the restaurant opens up to the back and the ceiling near there feels sort of low.  That being said, we went their for Mother’s Day with my grandma and I know this post is oh so late, but better late than never right?  They gave all the mothers chocolates so that was nice of them.  Oh, and they also had a special menu for the occasion.

Shrimp or Prawns, either way they’re good.

I know, I can’t even see the piece of oyster through all that.

They really live up to their name for being a Seafood joint eh?

All Chinese places got something like this, Abalone MUSHROOMS and vegetables.

I’m also missing a dish, but I don’t know the name of it.  In Cantonese it’s called, “Zhern Muk Tong” I think, but that was good too.  However the next dish is fairly disappointing.  It is a chicken dish and it was just overcooked, dried out.

Chicken

A bit overcooked, but at least it came with Shrimp Chips!  Okay fine…most places have them.

And of course, the customary Noodle dish, for long life.

Their noodle dish looks the same as any place, so not very special or anything.  They also had soup and rice, but again, all traditional Chinese restaurants serve those as well.  Dessert wasn’t to my liking, but it was to my mother; aka not very sweet.

All in all, I think I’d prefer it more if we didn’t order the special Mother’s Day menu and just picked what we wanted from the menu.  I also prefer the Kirin in New Westminster for their food and decor over the historical significance of this Kirin.

- Wavayto

Kirin Mandarin Restaurant 麒麟川菜館 (Downtown) on Urbanspoon

