It’s been a while since I’ve been back to Tokyo Joe’s. For those who don’t know, it’s located right across the street from Price Smart Foods on Ackroyd road. It’s a bit of a hole in the wall so you might miss it if you’re not looking. When I went for lunch with a friend it was as busy as usual but we managed to get a table. They also revamped their menu to include some new items although the actual menu itself doesn’t look any newer. And did I mention they provide free miso soup? Help yourself!

IMAG0342I had to get my usual unagi roll, Alaska roll and we also opted for a mango roll. I think the unagi roll was drenched in a bit too much sauce. Yes I do like sauce but I think I can do with a little less now. The smoked salmon on the Alaska roll was also really generic tasting and didn’t stick to the rice properly. And even worse, the mango in the mango roll was really mushy and it just looked really unappetizing. Also I thought the mango would be on top of the sushi. Although since it’s not mango season I don’t know why we ordered this… so I was a tad disappointed.

IMAG0002

We also ordered a Philadelphia roll with avocado and cream cheese and the Volcano roll with spicy salmon and tuna on top of a California roll. We were pleasantly surprised that they had written Happy New Year in the sauce! The presentation of these two rolls was also quite nice. Based on other similar rolls I’ve ordered with avocado before, the avocado on the Philadelphia roll wasn’t that creamy and they also cut it weirdly so that it didn’t look smooth. Taste wise it was alright with sufficient cream cheese.

The Volcano roll was something that I had wanted to try for a while and I like spicy stuff. I think the texture of the sashimi may have been a bit on the mushy side but it was okay I still enjoyed this roll although it could have been done much better. At least the presentation was appealing.

Overall I think I’ve had too much good food since my last visit so my expectations were higher. OR it’s possible that their standards have dropped… but I kind of doubt that. Price wise you get what you pay for so I would still come back for some cheap rolls and this hole in the wall is pretty popular. They do have a lot of variety as well and the food is pretty decent. The service is also very prompt and friendly. They should really make the mango roll better though…

Tokyo Joe's Sushi Factory on Urbanspoon

