After reading many other reviews on Peaceful Restaurant and hearing about the feature on Diners, Drive-In’s and Dives, I put it on my to-eat list! Peaceful Restaurant is conveniently located near the Broadway and Cambie skytrain station across from Benkei Ramen and McDonald’s. I’ve seen their line ups before around dinner time so I’ve never bothered to line up before but I happened to pass by in the middle of the afternoon with my friend and I thought it was the perfect opportunity to try it out.

The inside is fairly narrow actually and you can see directly into the kitchen which is situated in the middle of the restaurant. Usually you don’t get to see into the kitchen at all so I thought that was interesting. After hearing so much about their famous beef pancake rolls I absolutely had to order that! It was $7.95 and a bit more expensive than other places.

Peaceful Beef Pancake Roll Okay this pancake was definitely very flaky! The pancake wasn’t stiff or too chewy and it did feel like it had many layers to it while being crispy at the same time.  The beef inside was flavourful without being drowned in too much hoisin sauce either. Also, there weren’t too many green onions! It was definitely very good!

The beef pancake roll is featured at the end of the video.

Cat Ear Noodles

Next we decided to share the cat ear stir fried noodles with pork and vegetables. We were quite intrigued as to what it was like. The description said that it was a Chinese gnocchi which I’ve never tried before. In fact I didn’t even know such a thing existed! The dish’s presentation was very colourful due to the different vegetables. The gnocchi was soft and chewy and came in small pieces so it was difficult for me to pick them up with my lack of chopstick skills! However, the dish was quite tasty and there was a mixture of crunchy and chewy textures in every bite.  It was a tad oily and salty though but that’s probably normal. I will be sure to come back to give their regular noodles a try!

The service was okay when we went but I’m not sure how it would be if it was during a busy dinner rush. My friend got ice water and there were unidentifiable particles floating in it but they promptly got us another glass. Overall, the food does seem pretty good as evidenced by the the long line ups so give it a try!

Peaceful Restaurant on Urbanspoon

