I had a craving for xiao long bao (little dragon buns!) and decided to go to Top Shanghai for some Shanghainese food. Top Shanghai is probably my favourite place for Shanghainese food and I’ve been here multiple times for dinner but only once for lunch. It’s conveniently located near the plaza with Price Smart on No. 3 Road. I was surprised that the menu sheet for dim sum they gave us was all in Chinese! Thankfully I can read 80-90% of it except even when I could read it I didn’t know what it was exactly.Excuse my rough translations! However, their regular dinner menu has English on it. The menu sheet also did not include any prices on it either but I liked that they had a lot of variety from cold appetizers to many noodle dishes and desserts. Strangely enough, the items we ordered weren’t that Shanghainese because my friend wasn’t feeling very adventurous.

IMAG0524This was our first dish which was a deep fried bun with many “layers” inside and it came with a side of condensed milk for dipping which is the best part. The exterior gave it a slight crunch and the inside was very soft and the sweetness from the condensed milk gave it some flavour.

IMAG0526I know this looks like soup but it’s actually noodles with cucumbers and firm tofu in “ja jeurng” sauce. Sorry I have no idea what that’s called in English (feel free to tell me what it is in the comments!). Anyway, the noodles are hidden under the thick sauce and they were quite soft. I think there was a too much sauce though I expected it to be mixed with the sauce but not drowning in it although I’m not sure what the traditional way of serving it is. Still very tasty though!

xiao long bao top shanghaiFinally we got our xiao long baos (XLB)! They were full of juice and the skins were pretty thin too. The pork inside was very tender and well flavoured. They looked a bit uglier than usual presentation wise. They also have 3 different types of XLB available as well but we had the more traditional Nanjiang style. This is probably my favourite place for XLB! Or I’m just saying that because I’ve eaten them here a lot. :P

dumplings in soupFinally we had dumplings in soup. The soup was more like a light chicken broth and seemed oily. There were 8 dumplings so it was a nice dish to be shared. It wasn’t particularly remarkable though.

top shanghai items ordered

There were a lot of other dishes to be tried but overall I had a satisfying experience here. It would help it we had more people next time! It gets quite crowded at night though and the tables are fairly squished together. Try to make reservations first!

Top Shanghai Cuisine 上海一只鼎 on Urbanspoon

