Since my next two exams are next week I’m slacking off for now. My friend and I took a study break to Gyo-O for lunch (read my previous post here). Gyo-O specializes in donburis and ramen. Once again, I was overwhelmed with all the pictures on the extensive menu. There are just so many things I want to try! Meanwhile my friend already knew what he wanted right away… except I think he’s used to waiting for me to decide. ^^”

Gyo-O

I believe everything served during lunch hours comes with miso soup.

Gyo-OMy friend had the Seafood Yukke Don which I had ordered last time. This is a bowl of rice topped with chopped sashimi mixed with their special sauce. I’m not sure if it’s just me, but it looked like there was slightly more seafood last time? Or maybe they just put different types of seafood in it. Nevertheless, it was equally delicious with a perfectly poached egg to top it off. Be warned that the texture can seem a bit slimy!

Gyo-O Meanwhile I had the Mini Spicy Tuna Don. They have a decent selection of mini sized dons. If you don’t have a big appetite, this is actually a pretty good size since all the rice will fill you up. For an extra $3, you can make this a combo. This came with three pieces of spicy tuna sashimi on a bed of rice with some seaweed salad and bamboo shoots. Since there wasn’t enough sauce, I poured their addicting homemade soy sauce on the rice and mixed it all up. Due to the heat from the rice the tuna warmed up but I didn’t mind it. Combined with the spicy sauce on the tuna, this was a very tasty bowl of rice! I don’t know what they put in their soy sauce but it tastes especially good. This cost about $5.50 so about half the price of a full sized bowl.

Gyo-OFinally we had a side of takoyaki. Buried underneath the pile of bonito flakes are 6 piping hot balls of savoury goodness!

My experience here was just as good as my first time here. The service was warm and friendly. I can’t wait to try some of their other rice bowls! I would definitely recommend trying this place at least once!

Gyo-O 魚王 on Urbanspoon

