It was another nice sunny day in Vancouver! Yes I have to comment on the weather because it still feels rare to see the sun around here… Anyway my friend and I went to Aberdeen and had some shaved ice from Frappe Bliss. They recently moved their store location to the back of the food court because the new Bubble Waffle Cafe took over their previous location. In fact I almost forgot they existed… Basically you can either choose your own toppings and create your own combo or you can choose some of their premade combos as well like Strawberry Romance or Matcha Delight. We decided to make our own so we chose green tea shaved ice ($3)  with green tea ice cream ($1.50), grass jelly ($1.00) and mangos ($1.00). Our combo came to about $6.50. They happened to run out of mochi or else we would have added that too. =(

Frappe Bliss Aberdeen I also noticed that they changed their bowls to a wider and more shallow bowl vs. a deeper less wide bowl so there might have been less product compared to before. The counter person also asked if we wanted some condensed milk on top after and we said yes. For some reason it just didn’t taste as good as it used to. Or my tastes have changed. The green tea ice cream was crumbly and they could have added more mango. I also felt that the flavour of the shaved ice wasn’t very strong either although it’s probably not suppose to be since it’s just ice. Furthermore, the service was a bit lackluster but that’s not really a problem.

If you haven’t tried Frappe Bliss before you might still want to try it once but I think my shaved ice phase is over for now. Also it might be cheaper to order some of their premade combos too.

Happy May!

Frappe Bliss 雪花冰 on Urbanspoon

