Vancouver is turning into a food truck hot spot and Mom’s Grilled Cheese is a pretty popular option. Located by the Art Gallery on the corner of Howe and Robson, you can usually find Mom’s Grilled Cheese and its long line-up 7 days a week.  Long line-ups must mean good food right? I was about to find out! I had always secretly wanted to try it out but the timing was never right and they seemed pricey for something so simple. I mean I can make my own grilled cheese sandwiches at home!

Mom's Grilled Cheese Food Truck

Mom's Grilled Cheese MenuBasically you get to choose your bread, your cheese and any add-ons that you want such as sliced red onions or tomatoes and of course there are deluxe add-ons like bacon! =D There are also daily specials but I went on a Friday and they don’t seem to have a Friday special anymore. I got sourdough bread with pepperjack cheese and bacon ($1.50).

Ok I will take this time to admit that my concept of cheese has been limited by Kraft Singles…

Mom's Grilled Cheese Food TruckMmm look at all that ooey-gooey cheese on that glorious sandwich! All sandwiches are served in a paper cone with a slice of pickle and Hardbite chips (they were on Dragon’s Den!).

Mom's Grilled Cheese Food TruckClose up with the bacon! The sourdough bread was well buttered and crispy while the bacon made the sandwich salty. They did not skimp on the cheese at all and it was well melted throughout the sandwich. In fact, I almost felt like I overdosed on cheese after and I was super full afterwards. I don’t think I could really taste the pepper in the pepperjack but what do I know about cheese anyway? These grilled cheese sandwiches are a lot fancier than what I can make at home and they really hit the spot if you’re looking for some gourmet comfort food! I can see why this food truck is so popular! I didn’t take a picture of the chips but they reminded me of Ms. Vickie’s chips but in the original flavour because they had a similar texture. 

‘Mom’ Cindy is super friendly and they seem to have a lot of regulars too. You can also ask for a box instead if you plan on eating your sandwich later or even extra pickles. If you’re willing to brave the line-ups for a gourmet grilled cheese sandwich, be sure to visit Mom’s Grilled Cheese!

Mom's Grilled Cheese Truck on Urbanspoon

