My BFF <3 from Toronto came back so we met up for lunch at Anton’s! Thankfully there was no line up at 1pm and the restaurant was only half full. My first visit to Anton’s was over two years ago now so I can’t quite remember what the food tasted like. The only thing I remembered was the giganormous portions and that’s what they’re famous for. Anton’s is in North Burnaby and it took me an hour to bus there! The decor inside had a homey feel to it but it was nothing fancy.

Excuse my horrible yellow photos, apparently my camera was on some kind of weird setting I didn’t know about. Oops! ><

Anton's Pasta BarWe were given some free bread to start off with but neither of us touched it since we knew we were going to be really full from the pasta. We had intended to eat it after but we had room so I can’t comment on the bread. There is also a minimum charge of $8 per person so we decided to share a pasta and a dessert to fulfill that requirement.

Anton's Pasta BarAll pastas are $12.75  for lunch unless otherwise specified. The pastas are divided by the type of sauce used in it such as red sauce, white sauce, clear sauce etc. They also have a selection of stuffed pastas and vegetarian pastas We chose the Penne Mezza Luna with Italian sausage & pancetta in an olive tomato sauce. I’ve always preferred red sauces and who doesn’t love anything with Italian sausage right?  Our server asked if we wanted any pepper on our pasta and we said yes. She kept going for longer than we expected before we realized we had to ask her to stop. First of all I thought that the penne was really thick and a bit chunky. It was also on the soft side and not quite al dente either. Otherwise it was alright and the sausage gave the pasta a bit of a kick or it could have been the black pepper we had sprinkled on top. The pasta was rather mediocre due to the noodles they used so I think this is somewhere you would go for quantity over quality.

Anton's Pasta BarThen we had our Tiramisu which turned out to be huge too! It also came with copious amounts of whipped cream. I was so glad we were sharing this. The cake was moist and spongey but the bottom layer was soaked in waaay too much espresso. It was pretty much soggy. =S I’m not too picky with cakes but this was probably the worse tiramisu I’ve ever had. They probably didn’t make the cake in house though and they’re not known for desserts anyway so I shouldn’t complain too much…

Anton’s is somewhere you go for quantity over quality. It’s definitely a good spot for a cheap lunch or dinner but you can get better quality pasta elsewhere. Also I don’t think it’s worth the hype and lineups at night either. If you want to try it, go during lunch times and skip dessert!

Anton's Pasta Bar on Urbanspoon

