After reading some food blogs about Waffles Gone Wild (in particular Sean’s Adventures in Flavor Town), I suddenly had huge cravings for waffles. When I did try to go to Waffles Gone Wild they were closed that day (Tuesday). =( That was last month and since I STILL didn’t get my waffle fix yet, my BFF and I went to Miura Waffle and Milk Bar instead. It’s located right next to the bus stop on Davie St and Howe. They specialize in Japanese style waffle sandwiches and they were also featured on Food Network’s “You Gotta Eat Here” show.

Miura Waffle and Milk Bar

Miura Waffle and Milk Bar, Yoggy MilkMiura offers a yogurt milk drink called a “yoggy milk” and we decided to share one. We had the passion fruit flavour but we both found it to be too sour. It left a strange aftertaste in our mouths after. You do sort of get used to it but not really. Maybe the blueberry would have been less sour.

Miura Waffle and Milk Bar

Their menu consists of more savoury waffle sandwiches than sweet ones. I had my eye on the Banana Caramel but I couldn’t resist getting the Bulgogi instead since it sounded a lot more interesting! It was also their signature waffle sandwich as well.

Miura Waffle and Milk Bar

Miura Waffle and Milk Bar I don’t regret getting the Bulgogi at all! The waffle sandwiches were really big and I was pretty full after! The waffles were crisp on the outside and soft and fluffy on the inside. The inside of my sandwich was full of kimchi and egg while the bulgogi was actually cooked with the waffles! It was a super tasty sandwich but the only slight downfall was that I found the bulgogi to be dry and lacking in flavour despite the bulgogi sauce they used. Maybe they should have marinated it longer. Guess you can’t win em’ all but it’s still a really good sandwich!

Miura Waffle and Milk Bar

Miura Waffle and Milk BarMy friend also opted for a savoury waffle sandwich. She had the Garlic Chicken. Evidently there was a lot of veggies that came with it too. I didn’t try it but she said it was good too. I suppose we should have flipped it over to take a picture of the other side… oops didn’t think of that then! ><

We were both really pleased with our experience here! I never knew a waffle could be turned into a sandwich but I guess any sort of bread works right? They also have a sign that says they do not serve the food with cutlery so it is meant to eaten with your hands. The dining space is not too big but they do have a small patio area outside. I would definitely recommend a visit! Next up: Hopefully a visit to Waffles Gone Wild! No I have not forgotten you yet (along with the hundreds of other places I need to try)!

Miura Waffle Milk Bar on Urbanspoon

