I saw the menu for Rumpus Room and it had some cheap eats on it but the best part was that they also offered deep fried Mars bars and deep fried oreos and also we can’t forget the deep fried cheesecake! Okay this may sound gross to you if you’ve never tried it but it’s actually really good! I met up with a friend here for lunch and I found the decor extremely quirky and weird but it added an interesting touch to the restaurant. It definitely stood out from other neighbourhood restaurants. Especially when you see the pink plastic flamingos adorning their patio area. The patio area also had brightly coloured plastic chairs as well.

Rumpus Room

Hello Mr. Pig with the mustache! x)

Rumpus Room Now I admit this is not the type of restaurant I would usually frequent but hey I’m a food blogger now so I will stop judging! Is this place considered hipster?

Rumpus Room, Deep Fried Mars Bar

Okay I just HAD to get the Deep Fried Mars Bar despite whatever dieting plans I had. This was $6 and even came with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and whipped cream with sprinkles on the side. I think it’s the same price at the night market but minus the ice cream.

Rumpus Room , Deep Fried Mars BarThe rich gooeyness of the Mars bar oozed out of the batter and it was absolutely delicious with the side of ice cream. Don’t worry I shared! I was actually never a big fan of Mars bars before. They tasted alright and they were chocolatey but I had other favourites. Now that I’ve had them deep fried I have a new found respect for them.

Rumpus Room Their menu had a lot of cheap diner food that I wanted to try like chicken and waffles. They also serve breakfast till 4pm. After much internal debate, I ordered a BLT sandwich with sourdough bread. The Rumpus Room offers a huge variety of sides and they said you can have a waffle with anything! I needed a healthy side though so I went with coleslaw which I haven’t had in a long time. Their coleslaw was the usual mix of cabbage with a minimal amount of dressing which convinced me it was healthier than usual right? The sandwich was very basic and nothing special. I found the bread to be too hard and crunchy though. At $7 it was still a good deal.

IMAG0883My friend had the Pulled Pork Burger with a side of coleslaw. The pulled pork was fabulous! The pork was extremely juicy and tender but they could have used less BBQ sauce. The amount of pulled pork that gave you was great though! Mmm I’m still not over my pulled pork phase. This was much better than my boring BLT except it cost more of course.

Rumpus Room is the place to go for deep fried stuff! I don’t know where I can get a deep fried Mars bar anywhere else. The service was also very friendly and attentive. I wouldn’t mind coming back. The decor is really random though and it’s probably been like that for 30 years…

Rumpus Room on Urbanspoon

