For my graduation present, one of my friends bought me a box of cupcakes from Cupcakes by Heather and Lori! Yay! Although I do admit that my love for cupcakes has partially been replaced by macarons and other yummy goodies. Nonetheless, I really appreciated it! Who wouldn’t want a whole box of cupcakes? Okay don’t worry I tried to share with my family!

Cupcakes by Heather and LoriMy favourite was the Blue Hawaii. I’m sure you can guess which one it is. It’s a coconut cake with blue vanilla buttercream frosting with coconut sprinkles. My brother thought it was too sweet though so we shared it. It was still quite moist the next day. On the other hand, I ate the Red Velvet one the day after I got it so it tasted a lot more dense and dry and not very chocolatey so I can’t comment much on it. I’m sure it tasted better fresh. The other one I tried was the Mint Condition. It’s a chocolate cake with mint buttercream frosting and chocolate chip sprinkles. I thought the cake part would be minty too but it wasn’t and the frosting was just barely minty. They could add a lot more mint flavour to this one! It was very chocolatey and moist though since I ate it fresh. The last cupcake was the Koo Koo which was a coconut cake with cream cheese frosting. I didn’t try this one because my parents shared it but they seemed to like it.

Personally I think the cupcake craze is on the decline but Cupcakes did open another location at Oakridge mall this month so I’m probably wrong. The cupcakes were still tasty but I found the frosting to be really sweet too despite my sweet tooth.

Cupcakes on Urbanspoon

