There are so many Taiwanese cafes to choose from now so it had been a while since my last visit to Pearl Castle. We visited the Sexsmith location for a late lunch. I wasn’t that hungry so I decided that the best option would be to order thick toast and a drink. I started liking Taiwanese thick toast a lot after getting one from SoHo Tea Room. I just like my carbs a lot haha x)

Pearl CastleThe Peach Slush was well, just peachy to me. Not too icy or overly sweet. I wish bubble tea drinks came in smaller sizes, then it would be cheaper and I wouldn’t have to drink as many calories! Technically this drink can feed two people. Or two people like me who don’t want to drink too much… This costs $4.25 which is already on the lower end of the price range but I guess that’s the norm now right?

Pearl CastlePearl Castle offers a variety of thick toast including a special one topped with almonds but since I’m not really a big almond fan I went with the chocolate fluffy cream thick toast. When I got the toast there was no “fluffy cream” in sight. So I’m not even really sure what that means. The layer of chocolate on top was similar to the topping on a pineapple bun. Sort of crumbly in texture but underneath you could taste the butter that the used on the bread. The piece of toast also wasn’t as big and fluffy as the one from SoHo Tea Room but it was alright as far as toast goes. The chocolate topping wasn’t that chocolatey or sweet either. I expected the chocolate to be like a Nutella spread. Was I expecting too much? It was still enjoyable but maybe I’ll stick with the butter and condensed milk toasts.

Pearl CastleMy friend had Satay Beef with Noodles and it came with a side of grass jelly pudding. I really liked the flavour of the satay sauce and it made the whole dish quite delicious. I thought the portion was bigger than I expected too. It also helps that the plate was big haha Moreover, it was a bit on the oily side and my friend commented that everything is served with kimchi nowadays! We are not quite sure why…

Pearl CastleWe also got an appetizer to share. The deep fried tofu was very light and crispy. Despite the fact that it seemed to be seasoned on the outside, they tasted quite plain without the dipping sauce. I can’t quite articulate what kind of sauce it was though… And there was a side of kimchi too. The kimchi had a lot of spicy sauce and it gave the tofu some more flavour too but it wasn’t very good kimchi.

We enjoyed our meal here and they had pretty solid food as usual. The waitress was a little hard to flag down though even though it wasn’t busy.

Pearl Castle 圓香茶坊 (Sexsmith/Cambie) on Urbanspoon

