Okay I haven’t really ventured into Korean food much, mostly because all the Korean restaurants are either downtown or in Coquitlam/Burnaby. However, I did hear about Haroo through the food blogger grapevine and it was conveniently located on Alexandra road next to Deer Garden. It is fairly small inside and reservations are recommended. I had a small group for my birthday so I thought this place would be perfect.

We started off our meal with the usual side dishes (sorry no pictures) as well as a salad and Korean style congee. On the menu it says that you can only get one refill of the side dishes. We were too full from our meal though so we never refilled it anyway.

Haroo Korean Homestyle CuisineMost dishes are meant to be shared and cost around $18 but they’re quite big too. The first thing I had my eye on was the seafood pancake of course.

Haroo Korean Homestyle CuisineI didn’t think it would be THIS big though! There was a lot of seafood incorporated into the pancake and the pancake was quite thick too. I like the crispy batter but I’m not sure if some people will say if it’s too thick or not. I really enjoyed this though! It didn’t feel too greasy either. The pancake was served on a rack on top of the pan, perhaps so that the bottom will not become too greasy? I think this is one of the best seafood pancakes I’ve ever had though!

Haroo Korean Homestyle CuisineOf course we can’t get Korean food without ordering Bibimbap! We chose the Bulgogi Bibimbap I believe. Served with plenty of veggies, this was a very satisfying dish. The bulgogi was lightly marinated and not overcooked or dry. It also came with spicy sauce on the side in case you needed that extra kick to your meal. This is more like a personal sized bowl but of coures you can share as well. You really can’t go wrong with bibimbap! =D

Haroo Korean Homestyle CuisineNext we had the Spicy Pork which also came with a fair amount of veggies and topped with some radish I believe. I’m not sure since I didn’t really eat that part hehe. I loved this dish too it was fairly spicy and the pork was very tender. This dish came with a bowl of rice which would be great for soaking up the spicy sauce! Our food came quite quickly after we ordered and we were really impressed with their speediness.

Haroo Korean Homestyle CuisineFinally we had another one of my favourites, Japchae or Korean Glass Noodles! Yes okay almost everything we ate was my favourite lol ^__^ Don’t worry everyone else liked the food too! The noodles were soft and sort of like vermicelli but thicker and bouncier? I just loveee these noodles! As with the other dishes, there were also veggies mixed in as well. Yay for veggies!

We had also brought a cake and we asked them to put it in the fridge for us but we were informed that there would be a 15% charge for cutlery for the cake. O__O But we didn’t have a choice since we already brought the cake right so we obliged. I assumed they would cut the cake for us too but we were only provided with the necessary cutlery so I’m not sure why they need to charge us an extra 15% for that! There is also a limit of one credit card transaction per table as well and a minimum charge of something like $10 per person. However, many dishes are ~$18 so that shouldn’t be a problem even if you were sharing.

Besides that, we were all very satisfied with our meal here. The dishes are great for sharing as well and if you’re not too hungry you can always get the personal sized bibimbap or tofu soup dishes. This is my new go-to Korean restaurant for sure (so far at least!) Also there aren’t many in Richmond so it’s a good convenient place to check out.

Haroo Korean Homestyle Cuisine on Urbanspoon

