Previously I was sold on the hype that surrounded the opening of the new Cactus Club at Coal Harbour. I have yet to visit though so I settled on the Burnaby location which is right across from Metrotown. You can probably guess what I was doing before dinner now. We just felt like going somewhere slightly more upscale that day. We should have made a reservation though because they did have a short wait during dinner time.

Cactus Club Their Signature Sangria seemed good so I decided to try it. What won me over was that the description said there would be a splash of bellini.

Cactus ClubMy friend had The Burger with bacon, cheddar cheese and sauteed mushrooms along with a side of yam fries.  The burger was a good size and juicy so there were no complaints. Yam fries were nicely done too addicting as always.

Cactus ClubI had trouble deciding between all the options since I don’t frequent Cactus Club much. I finally decided on the Jambalaya Rice Bowl. This rice bowl had shrimp, chicken, sausage, veggies and black bean salsa. I found the chicken to be too dry but I loved the flavours of the rice bowl. There was just the right amount of heat to it and the portion size was very good. I also liked that they give you a choice of white or brown rice. I chose brown rice and it tasted so good I almost couldn’t tell it was brown rice! They also offer a chicken teriyaki rice bowl and also a salmon rice bowl as well. Overall, I thought it was better than I expected. Might go for the short rib sandwich next time!

We had a nice experience here and I really don’t see anything wrong with visiting chain restaurants. The service was pleasant and our food and drinks arrived promptly.

Cactus Club Cafe on Urbanspoon

