Godiva has been offering chocolate milkshakes for over a year now and I’ve always been tempted to try but they always seemed too rich and sweet. If you’ve ever been to Godiva, you will know they make delightful chocolate treats. Albeit on the pricier side compared to Purdy’s or drugstore chocolates. If you haven’t tried their truffles before, walk into a store and chances are that you will get a free sample. I noticed they had a sign outside their store notifying customers about their “Buy 5 shakes, get 1 free” deal so I took the dive and decided to get one.

Godiva

They offer 6 shake flavours and all look equally delicious! I was thinking about getting the Oreo one but I get Oreo flavoured food way too often. I’m sure I knew what it tasted like already so I went for the Dark Chocolate Raspberry instead. I also thought that maybe the tartness from the raspberry syrup would offset the sweetness a bit too. I like chocolate but I don’t want to overdose on it either.

GodivaThis is definitely not your typical slushy drink. It’s made with 72% dark chocolate pieces and raspberry sauce. I asked for no whip so that left for more room for them to top up my drink with the milkshake instead! Yay! The flavour was very rich from the dark chocolate and I also found that it tasted a bit grainy because the chocolate pieces did not dissolve in the drink after being blended. That was alright with me though. It totally satisfied my sweet tooth for the day! Maybe a week if you don’t have much of a sweet tooth. Well actually I didn’t think they were overly sweet anyway it was just right since I ordered the dark chocolate one. I thought the raspberry syrup would be blended into the drink though and not just drizzled over it or into the cup. The flavour was still prominent enough though. It tasted exactly as they described it. They are $6 each for a 12oz sized drink which is on the expensive side. The concept is simple but they are just using high quality chocolate. For that price you can get a healthy fruit smoothie with 3-5 servings of fruit from Jugo Juice or something. But everything in moderation right? ;)

Godiva Chocolatier on Urbanspoon

