I’ve been hearing about how great the views are at the new Cactus Club at Coal Harbour and a new Tap and Barrel opened there too. It’s getting to be quite the hub for restaurant go-ers. There’s even a new Rogue Kitchen and Wetbar nearby. My friend and I didn’t sit at the patio despite all the attention it’s been getting. I just prefer sitting indoors. I guess I’m afraid when I’m not looking some bug might decide it wants to try my food too…

Cactus Club Coal Harbour

We decided to share an appetizer and an entree because we weren’t feeling too hungry. I was surprised that the Calamari was so big! It’d make a great entree by itself! It was served with a chipotle aioli dip and a tzatziki dip. The calamari was crisp and light and flavourful enough by itself. The fresh dill complemented the flavours well and I loved how the red peppers were fried too. We couldn’t stop eating this! It felt like one of the best calamari dishes I’ve had!

Cactus Club Coal HarbourThe other dish I had always wanted to try was the BBQ Duck Clubhouse. The sandwich was stuffed with peking duck and roasted chicken! I was kinda excited for this but it was actually very difficult to eat. I found that there was way too much hoisin sauce which kept dripping all over the place and it didn’t actually help the fact that the duck/chicken was quite dry. The pecan fruit bread gave it some added sweetness but mostly all you could taste was the sauce so it just felt very one dimensional. =( They offered to cut it up for us and serve it on separate plates along with fries. They could have used a smaller plate though because it made the portion look even smaller. The fries tasted rather bland compared to the delicious calamari we had eaten earlier. I would stick with a different sandwich next time.

The ambiance here was very good though and we had a terrific view of Stanley Park. I would recommend this location if you’re trying to impress some guests with a nice view!

Cactus Club Cafe on Urbanspoon

