Donuts are practically a dietary staple since they’re pretty cheap at Tim Horton’s. However, at Lucky’s these are not your typical mass produced doughnuts. Everything is made from scratch and in-store everyday. That also explains the higher price points (~$3). I dropped by one day while I was in the area and snagged a Lemon Poppyseed Doughnut. Yes still going through that lemon phase folks.

Lucky's DoughnutsOkay please excuse my hastily snapped picture and the weird lighting. I was taking it to go and it was quite busy in there so I just quickly took a picture on the counter lol and left before people would think I was weird… =_________=

Anyway, there was a good amount of poppyseeds on it and it was a good size. When I bit into the doughnut, I was expecting maybe a more cake like fluffy texture. It was actually more like a cross between a light doughnut and a cruller but less moist. It just retained a slight chew to it but it wasn’t that light either. Hope that makes sense! The lemon glaze was zesty with the right amount of sweetness to it. I thought it was pretty good but I’m not sure if I wanna pay over $3 for a doughnut. Then again I have to say I wouldn’t mind grabbing one occasionally :P

Forty Ninth Parallel Café & Lucky's Doughnuts on Urbanspoon

