I’ve had a craving for waffles since April when I saw a blog post about Waffle Gone Wild! That was approximately when they opened on Broadway. All their waffles are liege waffles baked fresh to order. The store is on the quaint and cozy side and there was a giant chalkboard with Tin Tin drawings! I still haven’t been to Nero Belgian Waffles so I don’t have much to compare with. Price wise though, Waffle Gone Wild is about $2 cheaper. During my visit, we were the only customers in the store so their service was super attentive. It seems to be run by a Korean family? Our server gave us some lemon flavoured water to start with and they asked us how the food was like 3 times. Besides, waffles they also have a small selection of teas and bubble tea type drinks.

Waffle Gone Wild Being the chocolate-lover that I am, I knew I had to get the Chocolate Volcano. The presentation was beautiful and there was a lot of effort put into it.  The liege waffle was served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, whipped cream, mocha whipped cream, chocolate shavings, strawberries and an Oreo cookie. I felt super guilty for eating all that whipped cream but it was delicious! The waffle was on the dense side and sweet from the sugar crystals they use inside. It was a really good waffle and the ice cream and whipped cream complemented it well. I would’ve preferred the ice cream on top of the waffle and some more chocolate sauce as well. The drizzles on the plate were nice but I couldn’t really eat it. There wasn’t really enough chocolate to make it volcanic though despite the name.

Waffle Gone WildI knew my friend would go for the Japanese Matcha waffle. Presentation wise it was equally beautiful. It was also served on a fresh liege waffle and topped with red bean and a scoop of vanilla ice cream with matcha powder on top. This also came with a mochi ice cream ball, strawberries, mandarin oranges, whipped cream and a cookie spring roll. I’m pretty sure I liked this one more!!! It just felt like it had more going on than my Chocolate Volcano.

I enjoyed my first liege waffle experience here! The people there are super nice and friendly. If you go on their website, you can also order your waffle online and pick it up later.

Waffle Gone Wild on Urbanspoon

