My coworkers and I went for lunch at Ramen Jinya. It’s across from the public library downtown on Robson. I had previously never heard of it before so I was interested in giving it a try when my coworkers mentioned it. I also noticed there’s a lot of small restaurants on that strip of Robson too. There was a small lineup outside during lunch hours and you can just put your name on a list and wait for them to call you. The interior wasn’t that big but it was well lit from the large windows at the front. They had ramen with either a pork broth or a chicken broth. I chose the Tonkotsu Spicy Ramen and you can choose your spiciness level from mild, spicy or hot. I picked spicy.

Ramen Jinya I actually really liked this! It was the right level of spiciness for me and the broth tasted rich and delicious. I think it’s also because it was salty too. The noodles were al dente and the pieces of tonkotsu were fatty and chopped up into small pieces. I wanted to keep drinking the broth but I knew it was probably super fattening and oily. They also have the Tonkotsu Red Ramen where you can choose your spiciness level from 1-10 and I heard 5 was pretty spicy already. I definitely would come back to try their Red Ramen or Black Ramen. I always thought that ramen joints were on the other end of Robson but I guess not! My only issue was that we were seated on these high bar like stools and there was no where to put my jacket or bag…  Also, they do have a minimum charge of $9.75 per person.

Ramen Jinya 陣家 on Urbanspoon

