I’m not crazy about ramen but it is pretty good on a cold day! On another lunch trip with my co workers I finally got to try Kintaro Ramen which is like the original ramen shop in Vancouver! Stepping into the restaurant we could already feel the heat from their open kitchen and luckily we didn’t have to wait too long although we did have to split our group of 4 into 2 groups of 2 due to limited seating.

Kintaro RamenMy friend had the Cheese Ramen and I think it had a Miso soup base? Basically the cheese was some mozzarella that was sprinkled on top and there was also another slice of it too. You also get to choose lean or fatty cha siu here. Her’s was lean. This was a little more expensive because of the cheese but if you like cheese this is highly recommended!

Kintaro RamenI always order something spicy so naturally I picked the Spicy Garlic Ramen with fatty cha siu and a medium broth. That ball on top of the pork that you see is actually the garlic! This did not occur to me until I tried to take a bite out of it and promptly had to drink copious amounts of water. @___@ The noodles were al dente and the broth was indeed spicy. In fact I hardly noticed the garlic taste till afterwards. Since I ordered the medium rich broth, I began to see the oil and fat coagulating on top as the soup cooled down which was slightly disturbing. The cha siu was super soft and tender though since I got the fatty option. Unfortunately this also gave you garlic breath after so be sure to take some of those mints they offer you at the end of your meal! I think I liked the spicy ramen I had at Ramen Jinya better.

Kintaro Ramen 金太郞 on Urbanspoon

