Le Tigre is another food truck that I’ve wanted to try and my chance came when my co worker said that she was going to pick up some takeout from them! Yay! On Tuesdays they’re located on Cambie and 8th outside Whole Foods which is fairly close to my workplace. They serve contemporary Asian cuisine with a twist and they’re famous for their kick ass rice so of course I got that. You get a choice of pork belly or popcorn chicken with it and it turns out that you can also get half and half! Best of both worlds! I mean I can’t just pick one over the other!

Le Tigre Kick Ass Rice

So what’s in this Kick Ass Rice? According to their website it’s “cooked in sake, butter, dashi and topped with a perfect poached egg,fresh herbs and thai chillies “. Mmm I need to eat this again soon. The popcorn chicken tasted like the Taiwanese kind but with other spices instead of salt and pepper. I thought it was a bit under-seasoned though. The pork belly was fatty and tender like it should be. The poached egg was made perfectly and helped mix everything together! There was also some cabbage underneath along with some cilantro (or something green and leafy)? The rice was delicious and you could taste all the herbs and spices they put in and there was just a bit of spiciness. There were just so many flavours in this I had to savour every bite and I wished there was more.

Le Tigre Kick Ass Rice

My half finished meal with everything mixed up!

This really hit the spot for lunch. Also, I love interesting menu names! It sounds more interesting than a long description of where the food came from like “Fraser Valley pork and apples from the Okanagan…etc”.

Le Tigre Cuisine Mobile Food Truck on Urbanspoon

