I finally made my way to Fable Kitchen!!! *happy dance* I’ve just heard so much about this place and it has tons of good reviews. We just managed to get a table at the bar since we didn’t make a reservation and by 6pm that was the only spot left. Not that I really minded since we got a good view of the cooks preparing all the food.

Fable KitchenWe started off with the Roast Beet Salad. I’m not a huge fan of beets and I don’t eat them often but these were pretty good. They had that texture that made them seem sort of pickled, not too soft or too crunchy so the texture was a nice addition of the greens. There were also some crunchy rice bits on top and there just was enough vinaigrette.

Fable Kitchen We also ordered the featured appetizer of the day which was Pork Croquettes with some apple puree. The server had described the pork as something like pulled pork and I was imagining the pulled pork in sandwiches but this was completely different. It was more like really soft minced pork almost like the kind you would see in a dumpling but it wasn’t in a uniform lump and the filling was really soft and smooth inside.

Fable KitchenThis was the Weathervane Scallops and Bacon with cauliflower, fennel and anchovy pesto. I tried one and it tasted a bit creamy and the pesto was noticeable while the thick cut bacon complemented it nicely. I have a weakness for bacon hehehe and I have no idea what that thing on top is…

Fable KitchenI had the Duck Breast with cranberries, sauteed cabbage and perogies.  I didn’t think perogies could be paired with duck breast but it worked. This was the best duck breast ever!!! Which might not be saying much since I don’t eat duck breast all the time… but it was still the best to me! It was cooked to medium-rare and still very moist and easy to chew. It actually didn’t have too much fat and the only seasoning was from the skin. THIS WAS SO GOOD. The perogies had a really soft filling and a slightly crunchy exterior. I just love everything on this dish.

Fable Kitchen On to the desserts! We got a few to share. Yay! This was the Mascarpone Cheesecake with chai caramel, dried apple and almond brittle. This was a very light cheesecake and it wasn’t too sweet so it’s a good choice if you’re not big on desserts but you still want some.

Fable KitchenWe also ordered the Lemon Meringue Parfait with tarragon ice cream and streusel. It’s a very big and impressive looking dessert! The meringue was nice and light and then there was a scoop of tarragon ice cream underneath. I’m not sure what tarragon is suppose to taste like but it was ice cream so it was enjoyable either way! The streusel at the bottom made the dessert a bit crunchy. My friend thought it was a bit too sour and wished there was more ice cream. I like lemon so it was alright for me. After everything from all the layers was mixed up it was hard to see what I was eating so I’m sorry if this isn’t too accurate!

Fable Kitchen

This was my favourite dessert! S’mores with brownie, peanut butter ice cream tooped with lots of marshmallow. First of all this was chocolatey and the brownie was nice and soft and then the ice cream was really good too. The half melted marshmallow layer on top sealed the deal! I just love all the layers in this and you really need to dig in to get some of everything! I didn’t find that it was too sweet either except I didn’t eat the whole thing so that might be why.

I totally have to come back! :D I think getting to try 3 desserts in one night was the best part. Also the DUCK BREAST! I’m sure their other entrees are wonderful too or so I’ve heard.

Fable Kitchen on Urbanspoon