The Oakwood has been on my list of restaurants to try for a long time now and after going to Fable last month I decided that this was the perfect chance to try the Oakwood. The Oakwood’s dine out menu this year is pork themed!

The Oakwood

The OakwoodFor one of the appetizers we had the Smoked Seafood Chowder with oyster crackers. The flavour from the bacon was strong and someone at the next table said that it was too salty but I thought it was okay.

The OakwoodI had the Pork Terrine with maple cauliflour puree, pickled shallots and rye soil. I also got a piece of free oyster cracker because the server said it fell in but that’s ok! I wasn’t sure what to expect from this but the pork was really pressed together. My friend commented that it reminded him of spam hahaha… but not as salty but the shape was similar! I think it was just a little bland to me but the pickled shallots helped. You’re probably wondering what rye soil is and I forgot the description but it really tasted like a bunch of cookie crumbs? I think the seafood chowder was the better appetizer in this case.

The Oakwood

For my main I had the Porchetta with garlic broccolini, dijon spatzle and carmelized onion puree. I couldn’t taste the carmelized onion puree which was basically used to decorate the plate. The spatzle which I’ve never tried before was really good! It was crunchy but kinda soft in some parts? Sorry I just realized this is a terrible picture… but anyway the porchetta was on the dry side and not as tender as I’d expected. I was thinking it would be like the porcchetta from Meat and Bread. That is probably my only experience with porchetta. The skin was also really hard and not crispy and crunchy it was just hard and I didn’t eat it. The fatty parts were good though of course and the portion was quite big.

The Oakwood

The other enticing item on the menu was the Sable Fish with confit pork shoulder, pork rinds, lentils and carrot. The sable fish was melt in your mouth soft and very flaky. This was a great choice! =D

The table beside us ordered the pork crackling separately and man was it crunchy and crackly!

The OakwoodThis was the Creme Caramel with cranberry gel and shortbread in the shape of the maple leaf! Very Canadian. The texture was really smooth and soft and pudding-like. I thought it would be more solid? It was light and tasty though and slightly sour from the cranberry.

The OakwoodI had the Chocolate Mousse with coffee crunch. It was cute that they served their desserts in mason jars. The mousse was light but still rich in chocolatey flavour and the coffee crunch on top tasted familiar but I’m not sure what it was… It was a light and airy kinda crunch it reminded me of eating cereal or popcorn. Both desserts were good in their own way.

Okay so I guess there were some hits and misses for me but it was still a good experience and I would love to try their regular menu sometime.

The Oakwood Canadian Bistro on Urbanspoon

