Kingyo is another popular izakaya and it’s been on my list for a while too. It’s on Denman near Robson so it’s a bit far but I finally made it there! They also have this popular deluxe bento box for lunch which is limited to 10 sets per day apparently and when we got there at 1:30pm there were none left. :( You can reserve them though if you really want one.

Kingyo Izakaya

A lot of the choices looked good but I settled for the Pork Kakuni Bowl which was served with a poached egg (under the seaweed) and a side of soup. Yeah I just have a thing for pork belly x) The pork is stewed for 6 hours and it was indeed very tender but not super fatty. There was also a good amount of pork too and the poached egg helped meld everything together nicely. There was a side of mayo but I didn’t end up needing it. There were also 3 small pieces of pickled daikon/carrot which I ate first since I love pickled stuff. The soup was quite packed with miso flavor and combined with the rest of the rice bowl it made for a filling meal.

Kingyo Izakaya

Sorry about the weird angle of the picture. This was the Tuna Steak and Tororo Bowl topped with grated mountain yam and green onions. The tuna was pan fried a bit but still rare. I didn’t try the mountain yam part but the tuna was really good although it was a bit warm from the rice.

I enjoyed my lunch here and I noticed that they had a few items that were similar to some items on their sister restaurant Suika’s lunch menu. Service was pretty quick! I’ll try and come back for their bento box sometime.

Kingyo Izakaya 金魚居酒屋 on Urbanspoon

