With a name like Salt and Straw, it is hard to imagine what type of food they sell. Fortunately it’s ice cream!!! I looked up a bunch of food places to visit while I was on my Portland trip. I haven’t been to Portland in a long time, basically since high school so it was all new to me again.

Salt and Straw

Salt and Straw

Salt and Straw is pretty similar to Earnest Ice Cream. Everything is hand made with local organic ingredients. The pricing is cheaper too since it’s Portland and there’s also NO TAX =D When you’re almost at the counter, someone comes up to  you and asks what flavours you’d like to try and they bring it over to you in order to minimize the wait times which I think is a good idea.

Salt and StrawWe had the Almond Brittle with Salted Ganache (bottom), Stumptown Coffee with Burnside Bourbon, (top right), and Chocolate Gooey Brownie (top left). The almond brittle was crunchy and there were large pieces of salted ganache inside! I was pretty impressed with the ingredients. These are also the Kid’s size by the way! The Kid’s cone does not cost extra either but the waffle cone does. The portion is substantial enough for me.  However, my friend who had the coffee flavour also had the Kid’s size and her scoop was obviously bigger than mine… >.> The chocolate gooey brownie was exactly as advertised and the coffee flavour was pretty strong for the Stumptown Coffee flavour. We were all really impressed here!

They also have 3 locations in Portland so if you’re there and you like ice cream you should give them a try! The seating is limited though and they do have line ups.

Salt & Straw on Urbanspoon