I’ve heard that Pronto Cafe also makes a porchetta sandwich similar to the one at Meat and Bread. Pronto is a small Italian cafe with limited seating but they have a nice outdoor patio at the back of the restaurant. They serve pasta, sandwiches and paninis .

So on my lunch visit to Pronto, I ended up not ordering the porchetta since I wasn’t thaaat hungry and the Proscuitto Panini also sounded appetizing so I settled for that instead.

Pronto Cafe Panini

This is made with sundried tomato mayo, sweet Fabri cherries, arugula and provolone cheese. I thought the panini was a bit on the small size since it was $8.50 but I guess the price is similar to Meat and Bread except I feel like Meat and Bread would be more worth it but I’m just biased. The panini was good with nice stringy cheese but I wish the proscuitto was more spread out in the sandwich rather than just being on one side of the panini. It was so packed in that when I bit into it I ended up pulling a lot of it out in one bite. The only other thing was that I had no idea what sweet Fabri cherries were before ordering. I thought it might be dried fruit? However, it had this really weird flavour like cherry medicine and I didn’t like it…

Pronto Cafe

My friend had the Gnocchi with Pesto and Pancetta. The gnocchi had a nice chewy texture that contrasted with the crisp pancetta. The creamy pesto sauce with the cheese brought everything together. They also have daily specials written on a chalkboard.

While the food was not bad, I’m not in a hurry to return anytime soon. Maaaaybe for the porchetta?

Pronto on Urbanspoon

